This website uses cookies to make your experience as great as possible. By continuing to use the website, we will assume that you agree to their use. Find out more? x

A quick reference to Gautama Buddha’s major precepts

The List of Lists

This page is a very brief “Quick Reference” to some of the important precepts enumerated by Gautama Buddha.

Something here to describe how Buddhism has many “lists” and these have stood the test of time, mostly needing little, if any reinterpretation to be very relevant in our lives today.

Unlike many spiritual paths and philosophies, Buddhism addresses the practical aspects of human life.  Buddhism seeks to directly address the problem of suffering in the world, for all beings, in a way that can become our path, lived in our own lifetime, contributing to the reduction of suffering of all beings every where, at all times.

The lists are arranged in the approximate order they are presented in the Buddhism Guide Audio Blog for reasons of practicality and ease of reference.  Wherever possible a link is provided to an Audio Blog Episode that introduces the concepts as a starting point for students.

The Four Nobel Truths

  1. The truth of suffering in the world. [Episode 1]
  2. The truth of the causes of suffering. [Episode 3]
  3. The truth of the cessation of suffering. [Episode 5]
  4. The truth of the way leading to the cessation of suffering: The Eightfold Path [Episode 6]

The Three Marks of Existence (The Three Seals)

  1. Impermanence {anicca} : All conditioned things are impermanent. [Episode 4]
  2. Suffering (or unsatisfactoriness) {dukkha} : All conditioned things are unsatisfactory. [Episode 1]
  3. Non-Self {anattā} : All conditioned or unconditioned things are not self. [Episode 2]

Three Types of Suffering [Episode 1]

  1. Suffering of Pain
  2. Suffering of Happiness
  3. The All-Pervasive Suffering

The Five Aggregates [Episode 2]

  1. Form
  2. Feeling
  3. Conception
  4. Mental Formation
  5. Consciousness

The Five Physical Sensations (Feelings) [Episode 2]

  1. Sight
  2. Sound
  3. Smell
  4. Taste
  5. Touch

The Three Types of Experience [Episode 2]

  1. Pleasant
  2. Unpleasant
  3. Neutral

The Six Types of Sensation (Feelings) [Episode 2]

  1. Seeing
  2. Hearing
  3. Smelling
  4. Touching
  5. Tasting
  6. Mental

Three Moral Consequences of Volition [Episode 2]

  1. Skillful Acts
  2. Unskillful Acts
  3. Neutral Acts

The Three Poisons [Episode 3]

  1. Desire
  2. Anger
  3. Unawareness

The Eightfold Path [Episode 6]

  1. Right View [Episode 6]
  2. Right Intention [Episode 7]
  3. Right Speech [Episode 8]
  4. Right Action [Episode 9]
  5. Right Livelihood [Episode 10]
  6. Right Effort
  7. Right Mindfulness
  8. Right Concentration

Three Aspects of the Eightfold Path [Episode 6]

  • Seeing Clearly: Right View and Right Intention
  • Living Responsibly: Right Speech, Action and Livelihood
  • Staying Focused: Right Effort, Mindfulness and Concentration

Three Parts of Right Intention [Episode 7]

  1. Letting Go
  2. Good Will
  3. Harmlessness

Four Aspects of Right Speech [Episode 8]

  1. Refrain from lying
  2. Refrain from divisive speech
  3. Refrain from harsh words
  4. Refrain from gossiping

Three Parts of Right Action [Episode 9]

  1. Refrain from Taking Life
  2. Refrain from Stealing
  3. Refrain from Sexual Misconduct

Five Wrong Livelihoods [Episode 10]

  1. Dealing in weapons
  2. Dealing in humans
  3. Dealing in meat production
  4. Dealing in intoxicants
  5. Dealing in poisons

The 10 Unwholesome Acts [Episode 9]

  1. Refrain from taking the life of any being
  2. Refrain from taking what is not freely given
  3. Refrain from inappropriate sexual conduct
  4. Refrain from lying
  5. Refrain from divisive speech
  6. Refrain from using harsh words
  7. Refrain from idle talk
  8. Refrain from coveting others’ possessions
  9. Refrain from resenting the good fortune of others
  10. Refrain from holding a closed mind about things one doesn’t fully understand

Four Foundations of Mindfulness [Episode 11]

  1. Mindfulness of body
  2. Mindfulness of feelings
  3. Mindfulness of mind
  4. Mindfulness of mental states

Three Types of Feelings [Episode 11]

  1. Pleasant
  2. Unpleasant
  3. Neutral

The Five Hindrances [Episode 11]

  1. Being gripped by desire
  2. Feelings of ill will
  3. Lack of interest
  4. Restlessness
  5. Doubt
© 2019 Copyright - Buddhism Guide
Website services by RTIMES2
Translate »